

CHINA MOBILE (HONG KONG) LIMITED

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)

(Stock Code: 941)

Announcement

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of China Mobile (Hong Kong) Limited (the "Company") announces that it has been notified by Vodafone Group Plc. ("Vodafone") that Vodafone has nominated its Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Sir Julian Michael Horn-Smith, to replace Dr. J. Brian Clark as a non-executive director of the Company. Accordingly, Dr. J. Brian Clark has resigned, as a result of taking on a new role within Vodafone Group, from his post as a nonexecutive director of the Company with effect from 11 March 2005. Dr. J. Brian Clark has confirmed that there is no disagreement with the Board and there is no matter relating to his resignation that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company. The Board takes this opportunity to acknowledge Dr. J. Brian Clark's contributions to the Company, with the highest regard and deepest gratitude.

The Board is pleased to announce that, after the review and approval by the Board and the Nomination Committee of the Company, Sir Julian Michael Horn-Smith has been appointed as a non-executive director of the Company with effect from 11 March 2005. The Company welcomes Sir Julian Michael Horn-Smith as a member of the Board.

Sir Julian Michael Horn-Smith, age 56, is the Deputy Chief Executive Officer and an Executive Director of Vodafone. He has been a member of the Board of directors of Vodafone since June 1996. He is also Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Vodafone Deutschland, a Non-Executive Director of Smiths Group Plc. and Lloyds TSB Bank, a member of the Deutsch-Englische Gesellschaft e.V., and serves on the board of the Prince of Wales International Business Leaders Forum (IBLF). Since he joined Vodafone in 1984, Sir Julian Michael Horn-Smith has served as Marketing Executive, Managing Director of Vodapage Ltd., Vodafone Group International Ltd. and Vodafone AirTouch International Ltd., Chief Executive Officer for Europe and Chairman of the Management Board of Mannesmann AG, and Group Chief Operating Officer. Sir Julian Michael Horn-Smith holds a number of other directorships. His directorships held in listed public companies in the last three years include Vodafone, Smiths Group Plc, Lloyds TSB Group plc and Lloyds TSB Bank plc. He obtained an MSc degree in Business Administration from Bath University, and a BSc (Econ) degree from London University. Sir Julian Michael Horn-Smith has many years of management experience in the telecommunications industry worldwide.

Except as noted above, Sir Julian Michael Horn-Smith is not connected with any directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company. Sir Julian Michael Horn-Smith does not have any interests in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance. There are no other matters relating to the appointment of Sir Julian Michael Horn-Smith that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The service contract of Sir Julian Michael Horn-Smith with the Company does not provide for a specified length of service, and he will be subject to retirement by rotation and re-election at annual general meetings of the Company every three years. Sir Julian Michael Horn-Smith will receive a director's fee as proposed by the Board and approved by shareholders of the Company.

The Company believes that Sir Julian Michael Horn-Smith's extensive management experience in the telecommunications industry and his valuable expertise will be of great benefit to the Company. The appointment of Sir Julian Michael Horn-Smith will also enhance the co-operation between the Company and Vodafone.

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Wang Jianzhou, Mr. Li Yue, Mr. Lu Xiangdong, Mr. Xue Taohai, Mr. Zhang Chenshuang, Madam Li Mofang, Mr. He Ning, Mr. Li Gang and Mr. Xu Long as executive directors, Dr. Lo Ka Shui, Mr. Frank Wong Kwong Shing and Mr. Moses Cheng Mo Chi as independent non-executive directors and Sir Julian Michael Horn-Smith as a non-executive director.

By Order of the Board China Mobile (Hong Kong) Limited He Ning Executive Director and Vice President