The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

CHINA MOBILE (HONG KONG) LIMITED

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)

(Stock code: 941)

ANNOUNCEMENT

China Mobile (Hong Kong) Limited announces that it was notified by its controlling shareholder today regarding proposed consequential adjustments to the Board of the Company.

China Mobile (Hong Kong) Limited ("the Company") announces that it received notice today from its controlling shareholder, China Mobile Communications Corporation, that Mr. Wang Jianzhou has been appointed as the President of China Mobile Communications Corporation, and that Mr. Zhang Ligui will no longer be the President of China Mobile Communications Corporation for reason of age. Additionally, Mr. Zhang Ligui plans to resign from his position as a non-executive director of the Company. Mr. Wang Xiaochu will no longer be the Vice President of China Mobile Communications Corporation and has been appointed as the President of China Telecommunications Corporation. In addition, Mr. Wang Xiaochu plans to resign from his position as an Executive Director, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Company.

Certain consequential adjustments to the Board of the Company are proposed to be made. The controlling shareholder of the Company proposes to appoint Mr. Wang Jianzhou as an Executive Director, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Company. The aforesaid adjustments of the Company are subject to review and approval by the Board and the Nomination Committee of the Company. The Company will make a further announcement when the adjustments are approved.

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company consists of Mr. Wang Xiaochu, Mr. Li Yue, Mr. Lu Xiangdong, Mr. Xue Taohai, Mr. Zhang Chenshuang, Madam Li Mofang, Mr. He Ning, Mr. Li Gang and Mr. Xu Long as executive directors, Dr. Lo Ka Shui, Mr. Frank Wong Kwong Shing and Mr. Moses Cheng Mo Chi as independent non-executive directors and Mr. Zhang Ligui and Dr. J. Brian Clark as non-executive directors.

By Order of the Board CHINA MOBILE (HONG KONG) LIMITED Yung Jacky Shun Loy Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 1 November 2004